1984 Centurion Turbo

Only built in 1983 and 1984, this is most likely a 1984 model Centurion Turbo. I have a soft spot in my heart for Centurions that dates back a couple of decades to a super light weight yellow Centurion that was one of the very first “serious” road bikes I rode.


This is the second recent keeper that has come to me by way of a trade in recent months, my Shogun 2000 being the other.

Centurion claimed to have “spared no expense to make the Turbo (their) best. Like starting with the lightest, most responsive, and costly frame tubing on the market – Tange Champion #1 double-butted chromoly. Investment cast seat lug and aero fork crown. Short wheel base and very rigid geometry. The Turbo flies on 700c clinchers. Sealed bearing hubs mean silk-smooth rolling and next-to-no maintenance…crank out full power on Turbo’s Sugino Aero Mighty racing crankset and SunTour New Superbe derailleurs and pedals.”

Some of the other features this bike boasts:

  • Compact, thin-walled (1mm) lugs.
  • SunTour Superbe Pro levers mounted on brazed-on bosses.
  • Dia Compe new Gran Compe professional brakeset (short reach) with new improved quick release mechanism.
  • Exclusive Centurion curved brake bridge with integral mounting bolt.
  • SunTour Superbe pedal with chromoly axle and sealed bearings.
  • SunTour Superbe front and rear derailleurs and Winner freewheel 13-24t six-speed.
  • SunTour forged racing dropouts.
  • Full chrome plated chain stay. (In fact, the entire bike is chromed under the paint – I believe to enhance the five-part metallic finish.)
  • Selle Italia Turbo Bernard Hinault model racing saddle with genuine calfskin suede covering.
  • Investment cast seat lug with integral binder bolt and SR Laprade aluminum seat post.

It’s a sweet, fast riding bike. I need to true up the wheels a bit and she’s ready to ride.

Look for a ride report soon.

3 thoughts on “1984 Centurion Turbo

      • Andrew Madison says:

        I had come across a 1983 centurion turbo in 2014 at a small shop in Denver co. I knew it was a special bike from the moment it came through the door. A young man was looking to sell it and I knew I had to have it. As it turned out he knoticed that i had some bicycle paintings on the wall and he asked about them. I told him that I enjoy part inting vintage bikes and that I would paint him a custom portrait in trade for the centurion turbo. He accepted and the deal was done. I completed his painting and we parted ways with our new treasures. It is my favorite bike out of a small fleet that I have.

Leave a Reply

