Shogun 300 drops a few pounds and a few gears

Shogun 300 enters a new life as a three-speed

I’ve been pondering what to do with the Shogun 300 I picked up for chump change over the summer.

After all, my collection already includes a couple of randonneur/touring bikes, several vintages and nationalities of racing bikes, and a leisurely neighborhood comfort bike.

I debated a 650B conversion for a long time – I’ve been following the builds of a couple of really nice Shogun 650B conversions this past year and there does seem to be plenty of room for the fit on the 300 model. However, I’ve also had a wide tire 700c three-speed wheel set gathering dust in the studio.

My grandsons were visiting this afternoon, which left me homebound. So with the two boys hanging out in the studio with me, I puttered around with the bike. I pulled the derailleurs, yanked and cleaned the chainrings – then dropped the chain guard and small ring. The stem shifter got pulled and in its place I installed a single Suntour bar-end shifter to operate the three-speed internal geared hub (which I’m hoping will result in a cleaner overall look.)

The POS vinyl saddle was swapped out for a Vetta that I recovered in soft kid leather earlier this year. Still to come: Clean up the fender line from the rough install of fluted fenders, add new cables and housing, ¬†install yellow cotton Neubaum’s bar wrap coated with my standard seven coats of amber shellac, and a new chain. I may leave platform pedals unless I really miss the toe clips.

The bike should wind up being much lighter and have much cleaner lines when I’m finished.

If I recall correctly, my total investment was twenty dollars for the bike, and whatever the Neubaum’s wrap will set me back. Everything else came from swap meet trades I think, so I’m feeling pretty good about the build so far!

Leave a Reply

