Supporting the Tour de Cure

Many people know I pedal thousands of miles each year on vintage road bicycles that I’ve restored. What most people don’t know is that I am also a diabetic. Yesterday, I was convinced to put my pedaling to good purpose and to that end I am participating in the American Diabetes Association’s annual Tour de Cure event this year as a “Red Rider” — i.e., a rider with Diabetes.

As a diabetic, I am fortunate to be able to manage my condition through very rigid diet and exercise.

But not everyone with Diabetes has this option. The money events like this raise for the American Diabetes Association fund research, provide services, and give voice to those denied their rights because of diabetes. I believe in the work they do, and I’ve invited my friends and colleagues to join me in this effort. More than 25 million Americans live with diabetes, and the support of events like the Tour de Cure can and will make a difference in their lives.

I HATE asking my friends and colleagues for donations, but I did for this year’s Tour de Cure. I tried to keep my request reasonable by asking only for a five dollar donation. I also tried to sweeten the pot by mentioning that if $250 got donated within a short period of time I would make the ride on one of my vintage road bikes. Well as it turns out, waaaaay more than my minimum came in within a few hours. So this afternoon I began to tune up my 1973 Peugeot PX10. I changed tires and installed new inner tubes and rim tape. In the next day or two I’ll install the Koolstop brake pads I’ve been holding in reserve for this bike.

Please consider helping this worthy organization by making a donation — large or small – to support the work of the American Diabetes Association to Stop Diabetes!

Click here to visit my personal Tour de Cure page.

Leave a Reply

