It’s over, dammit. It’s over.

I got up this morning and it’s blindingly bright outside; there’s nary a cloud in the sky and not a hint of wind.

It’s also 39°and there’s a real bite in the air that I haven’t felt in a while. I’m wearing long sleeves. Dammit, it’s cold!

Clearly outlined against the pale blue sky, row after row of geese have begun their southern journey. How can this be? How can the summer be over? Just like that this season of triple digit temperatures is finished?

Yesterday, I wore cycling pants for the first time since last spring. Even after two hours in the saddle, the ice in my water bottles had yet to melt.

Meanwhile, I don’t even know where the rest of my cold-weather cycling clothes are stored at the moment.

I’m simply not ready for it to end!

4 thoughts on “It’s over, dammit. It’s over.

    • There’s some truth in that, although I’ll continue to get a lot of morning cycling in until the temps drop below freezing. It gets to be tougher when morning looks like a frozen extension of night time!

  1. This is a difficult time of year for me too. Portland basks in sunshine, warm breezes and perfect riding weather for a handful of glorious months. It’s something that is easy to get used to. In fact, life easily slides right into the season and one forgets about the looming 8 months of gray, wet and mostly dark weather that will be dutifully returning each year (starting Oct. 31st).

    Sigh.

    I suppose this is my gentle reminder that it’s time to install fenders and get bikes ready for the upcoming season change. Ah well. It was great while it lasted but it is now time to get out the wool layers.

    • I wore my long sleeve wool jersey this morning, Josh. It felt great for the first fifteen minutes and then I had to peel out of it. Won’t be too much longer before I’ll be wearing it full time.

Leave a Reply

