Indispensable

If you are a regular reader of The Early Morning Cyclist, you’ll have come to the realization that I use this forum pretty much to ramble on about whatever happens to strike my fancy at any given moment. Mostly, my fancy leans toward cycling.

From time to time I get contacted by someone interested in placing an ad on The Early Morning Cyclist, and the answer is always the same: I gently, but firmly, decline. Having a sponsor means updating with regular content, meeting a deadline…and that sounds an awful lot like a job (one of which I already have, and which keeps me pretty busy.) From time to time I get contacted about testing a product, which I have done if it’s something that interests me.  Cycling is what I do for enjoyment, relaxation, and simply to decompress – you’ll seldom read me pimping products on here.

Which makes this quick note all the more unusual for me. Just after Christmas cycling caps were sorta top of mind for me. I couldn’t find my ear warmers, and a bandana wasn’t doing much more than make me look a bit like Rosie the Riveter. Somewhere along the line I stumbled across a wool cap with flip up earflaps, much like the ones on my Tilley Tec-Wool Hat. I tossed the dice and ordered one, custom-colored and custom-sized, just for my tastes and personal head.

My new Wool Flip-Up Cap, made by Randi Jo Fabrications out of rural Elkton, Oregon, arrived last week. And I’ll be damned if I haven’t been wearing this thing everywhere. First off, it’s the most comfortable cap I’ve ever worn. The wool is downright comforting. While riding into frigid winds, my ears are snug under the flaps – but the flaps and cap are very lightweight and I don’t feel like I’ve got a sleeping bag wrapped around my head. Hiking, or simply taking the trash to the curb, or heading to the store, the cap feel right. Or hell, just sitting on the couch watching television I like the way it feels. Weird, right?

I like it when a product is immediately indispensable.

(Just to be clear, this is an unsolicited product endorsement. I was not asked to do it, nor did I receive any compensation for doing so, and I paid full price for the cap. It’s just a damn good cap.)

4 thoughts on “Indispensable

  1. Yeah, Randi Jo Fab makes good stuff, have had a few of her hats over the years. Just got a new flappy one last month, and a TSBC one in the summer. I really like her Multi-Use Tote, and just got a new one!

  2. I love these types of hats. I have one with and one without earflaps from another company. Without the earflaps, I wear it nearly year-round and it has the Yehuda Moon logo! I don’t really like the earflaps as much as it is bordered by elastic that tends to dig into my skin a bit.

    Once we return home, I will try a few of the Randi Jo products. They’ve been on my radar for a while. I might even do a little tour and swing by their shop/store.

    Jay

Leave a Reply

