I hate trainers.

It’s no secret. I hate my trainer.

There’s nothing so boring as spinning without going anywhere. I can ride places all day long, but thirty minutes on this damn thing is just about as much as I can muster. (Not to mention that it simply embarrass the hell out of my Paramount to be securely anchored to it.)

Sure, I can jam out on tunes, and that’s certainly helpful. My brain doesn’t scream out quite as much, but it does eventually scream. And who am I fooling here? My body? I don’t think so – muscle memory just isn’t the same. I’m just spinning my feet in circles. Even when I fake “accelerate” it’s nothing at all like being on the road, like climbing a hill. Nothing at all like the feeling I get stopping to check out a place I’m only just that moment discovering by bike. The smell of Febreze is entirely unlike any scent that comes wafting in on the crosswind. (As is the smell of the wet dog lying on the floor next to me as I spin one futile circle after another.)

A couple of years ago I discovered cycling videos. After a ten hour or so download, I managed to get one loaded onto my iPad. I MacGyvered a mount and found that if I really suspended my disbelief I could watch the video and almost imagine I was out on the road. I briefly even flirted with the idea of creating my own summer videos that I might watch while pedaling on snowy days indoors.

I watched the video over and over again, too cheap to buy another and too impatient to muddle my way through another long download. I was excited when the company put their entire library online. Last month I signed up for their monthly streaming service and enjoyed a couple of weeks of stationary cycling diversity, but without any warning the service was suddenly not working. The video service ended their relationship with Apple less than two weeks into my first month. Unwilling to muck about with their new provider – you know: cancel one subscription, set up a new one, and don’t worry because we’ll find a way to credit you your missing two weeks – well, I said to heck with them.

They didn’t seem to understand why I would feel that way. (Service really is dead, and as far as I can tell so is any awareness that it ever existed in the first place.)

Guess I’ll go spin now. I wonder what’s on Pandora.

Anyway, I really hate that damn trainer.

6 thoughts on “I hate trainers.

  1. Richard Hercus says:

    Have you tried old-fashioned rollers where you actually balance the bike while pedalling? This helps to develop both the core muscles and smooth pedalling. I’ve never used a trainer but I I find rollers are quite ‘interesting’ to use.

    • Y’know, I used to have Kreitler rollers years and years ago. Back then I didn’t find them particularly interesting but maybe I need to give them another go. Honestly, the biggest issue for me is just being indoors.

  2. Back when I tried to be a racer, I’d ride rollers and resistance trainers during those 35f and rain days in Houston. I remember constantly changing speeds, pedaling with one leg, and making all sorts of attempts at variety. But it was all sweating and looking at my garage door. It’s funny…I don’t “train” anymore, but I go out and ride more in colder weather than I did back then…because it seems to be more fun…because I’m not training anymore.

    • I don’t really “train” either. I do try to perspire though – it lowers my blood glucose to acceptable levels. I don’t mind the rain, or the darkness either. I love being outdoors. However, I draw the line when temps drop into the 20’s.

  3. Back when I raced in the 70’s as a teen I’d spend hours and hours on rollers in the winter. I’d weight train, jump rope and cross-country ski when we had snow in Illinois. I even did some roller races,the real kind where both wheels were spinning. I could crank up a sprint to 240 rpm’s. And I could ride no handed on rollers sometimes not touching the bars for 30 minutes.

    Fast forward to today. I own a set of CycleOps Rollers. I use them maybe two or three times a year. Usually on those 35 degree and raining weekend days when I feel I just need to turn some pedals but don’t want to go out. I did it a few weeks ago. I watched Breaking Away while riding. That was a good movie to ride to.

Leave a Reply

