Somewhere Other Than Here In Missouri

As a whole, the population of classic and vintage lightweight bicycle enthusiasts is fairly limited. Not only limited, but also pretty widely dispersed as well. Without the internet, and all the tools that come with it – email, forums, blogs, Flickr and Instagram … even eBay – well, there’d be very little community to speak of.

It’s that sense of community, or at the very least connectivity, that very often enriches this odd pastime of riding and restoring classic bikes. How often does one find one’s self in search of an esoteric, but necessary, bit of bricabrac, that oddment needed to complete a build? And where might one find such esoterica? As I trade or buy or sell components, that community grows ever wider for me. I find myself horse trading parts and frames with others of similarly arcane interests, often from far and obscure corners of the globe – certainly from places a goodly distance from here, somewhere in Missouri.

I have my own personal interests relating to the bicycle, and thus The Early Morning Cyclist exists for no other reason. And while my interests and those of others often tend to run in tandem, that sense of parallel absorption only goes so far. Indeed, it’s more accurate to describe those interests as overlapping in places. Nevertheless, I’m genuinely interested in the passions and motivations that drive my fellow enthusiasts.

I sold a saddle not long ago. I’d had it for quite a while, always hoping I’d have a bike to use it with. The leather covering is quite interesting, looking like some kind of exotic surface – a faux rhino or something. The purchaser was a patient man in Ireland who was tolerant of my fumbling attempts at setting up international shipping. And it’s during the ensuing conversations that one learns a bit about the other, which is what I’d like to share today.

Pat is building up the doppleganger of the bike Gianni Bugno rode to win the 1990 Giro. It’s a work in progress for him, and by researching period magazines he learned that the saddle he was in need of matched the one I had recently placed on eBay. Coming from Sean Kelly country, he rides in a part of Ireland where cycling enjoys a great deal of popularity. His F Moser Leader looks like it’s shaping up to be an interesting project, and so I share his “in progress” work here today.

Leave a Reply

