L’Avecaise: The Finished Build

The L’Avecaise build is complete, except for the front rack which is as of this writing on the Left Coast undergoing a bit of necessary surgery so that it fits this bike. What follows is a detailed build sheet.

Handlebar VO Gran Cru Chris’s Rando 46
Stem Nitto Technomic Tall, 26.0/120 length
Brake levers Dia-Compe AGC-250 Aero Compe
Brake calipers Tektro CR 720 Cantilever, black
Bar wrap Brooks Cambium Tan Wrap
Bar underwrap Cotton
Headset VO Gran Cru
Bottom Bracket UN-55, 121 length
Crank set Luxe 46/30, 50.4BCD/175
Pedals Shimano M-324
Front derailleur MounTech
Rear derailleur Microtek
Seat pin Sakae 6061-T6 TCO Sport, black
Saddle Brooks Pro, vintage large copper rivet model
Fenders VO Zeppelin 52mm Noir
Front rack VO Pass Hunter v1, cantilever, decaleur fork receiver
Cable and housing Jagwire black
Shifter Microtek
Tires Grand Bois 650b x 42 Hetre
Wheels 650b 32hole box section rim, high flange hub, 10sp/130
Chain SRAM  PC1051
Cassette Microshift 10s 12-28

Gear Inch Chart

46 30
Cassette
12 99.7 65
13 92 60
14 85.4 55.7
15 79.7 52
17 70.4 45.9
19 62.9 41.1
21 57 37.1
23 52 33.9
25 47.8 31.2
28 42.7 27.9

Seat and head tube angles: 73 degrees

Rake: 67mm

Bottom Bracket Drop: 71mm

Chain Stay Length: 43.5mm

Down Tube: 31.8mm True Temper Platinum 858

Top Tube: 28.6mm True Temper Platinum 747

Seat Tube: 28.6mm Columbus Zona 861 .2mm external butt

Chain and Seat Stays Columbus Zona .7mm

4 thoughts on “L’Avecaise: The Finished Build

    • I have a Boulder Brevet, which is 700c. It is far and away the best riding bike I’ve ever owned. And frankly, when I decided I wanted a 650b to complement that bike Boulder was my very first thought. Despite numerous messages and emails, I never got a return call. I wound up getting a Cycles Toussaint instead, with no regrets about doing that. It was a relatively economically way to get into the 650b pool to see if it was all hype or something I wanted to ride. I do like the ride quality of the wide, supple tires but I wanted something a bit livelier than the CT. I sold that frame, but kept the components to use on a 650b frame that better matched the 700c experience I get with my Boulder…so I called Boulder again – and once again never got a return call. They must really be busy! Now I don’t mean to imply that Jeff Lyon was my second choice – I just hadn’t realized I could afford one of his frames. The BQ review of the L’Avecaise a couple years ago was enticing, and I remember thinking at the time that Jan Heine was describing a 650b frame that sounded a lot like what I wanted. So when the time came that I had a bit of extra cash in my bike fund I decided to give Jeff a call. He’s a great guy and easy to work with, and I’m pretty pleased with his work. Oh, and it turns out I can afford his work also!

    • Jeff builds fillet brazed frames. Much as I love lugs, the joins on this frame are really terrific. I love craftsmanship, and he has it in spades. Check out the rake of that fork…just beautiful, right? I also wound up with the wet paint option, which is pretty sharp looking.

Leave a Reply

