Winter Gloom

Outside, things are as they tend to be around here each and every January: brown, gray. Dead leaves crouch in corners and under the equally dead looking limbs of bushes, around downspouts and chainlink fence. The roller coaster of temperatures – from -24F windchill to 72F a week later saps nearly all of my energy, but no one complains when those unseasonably warm days pop up every now and again.

My mileage has been limited to a stationary spin machine for the most part, and thank goodness for the distraction of Kindle and Pandora to get myself through the sheer boredom of spinning fast and going absolutely nowhere. The welcome shift in temperatures last weekend found me brightening up the winter gloom with a ride on my bright magenta Bernard Carre.

Oh, Spring! How much longer must I wait on you?

One thought on “Winter Gloom

Leave a comment